Google Ads or Facebook Ads?

Google. You want ads on a platform where people are actively searching for your services. 98% of people do not get on facebook to search for a local service business.

Think of it this way, if you needed a plumber, pool guy, or even a mechanic; are you going to go to a social media platform and look for one? Probably not. You’re going to go to a search engine. People actively looking your services are hot leads, which are the leads you want. I feel like Facebook may only be beneficial if let’s say, someone got an HOA violation letter and forgot to get quotes for their driveway, roof, etc. They might see the ad and think, “oh crap, I forgot to get that scheduled”. 8/10 times that is not the case. Most people know there is a hefty violation fee if they do not solve the issue within the specified timeframe. I use that as an example because about 75% of my new clients are all because of an HOA violation. Google ads, door hangers, and yard signs are your best bet. Please, please, please, do not use thumbtack or Angi. They’re a scam, so is yelp. (In my experience) you might be getting leads, but how many of them are actually becoming a customer? And how much are you paying per lead? Let’s say you pay $100 a week for leads and you get 5 leads. Your cost per lead is $20. If only one person becomes an actual paying customer for you, you’re paying $100 just to acquire that client, that is way too much. Angi was also sued for creating “fake” leads just to generate more revenue for themselves. That being said, this was MY experience, yours may be totally different so far, if it has been, good! Maybe they’ve gotten better. Angi, thumbtack, and yelp will call you relentlessly and beg you to buy their services. They throw big numbers at you and get you all excited, offer $600-$1000 in free ad spend just for becoming a new client, blah blah blah. For me, that free $1000 ended up costing me a $1000.

I have been using google ads for three years and my total ad spend has been for all three years combined is $48,231 as of the time I’m writing this. Google ads is a whole different beast to learn. About $10k of that was wasted on me trying to figure out different strategies. I am in Florida, my current cost per lead is about $35 on Google ads. Which is great considering this area is very saturated with exterior cleaning services. About 70% of my leads on Google become actual clients of mine. My average ticket for each client was about $600 last year. I also spent $15k on ads. I did about $160k in sales last year. About 50-60% of my new clients come from some source of paid advertising. So since half of my new clients come from paid advertising and I spent $15k last year, then paid advertising brought me half of my total sales. I would gladly pay $15k for $80k worth of work. I’d pay you that all day long. Keeping your prices affordable, being honest, having good reviews, and having a good personality will get your leads to convert into customers quicker than anything.

If you do get into Google ads, optimization is key. This takes time, data, and money. Optimizing ads is not even something I’m going to touch on, it’s such a long process to learn, but it is the only key for success with Google ads.

I should also add, I’m not a paid advertising marketer and I do not work for Google. I’m literally just a small business owner trying to give you a thorough explanation on my experience. Because if I can help someone not waste $10k learning how paid advertising works, I would gladly do it. When you’re first starting out, that is a LOT of money. That wasted ad spend can get you some pretty nice equipment. Anyway, I hope this obnoxiously long post helps answer your question :joy:.

Here’s a link to some similar experiences as far as Angi/Home Advisor.

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