What did I do wrong

Hello everyone. So I am fairly new to running my own business however I have been involved with pressure washing for nearly 2 years. I did a year of studying on these forums and worked for an established company for a little.

I am about a month into having my own business and just received my first customer complaint. Mind you I have done work like I did for this customer on many other houses and never had an issue.

On Friday (9/1) I did a fence cleaning on a white PVC fence. The fence was pretty bad but when I left it looked brand new, however today, Monday, the customer emailed me saying the grass around the fence looked stressed.

My process includes, using a 4gpm machine, down streaming from a 5 gallon bucket (3gallon 12.5% : 2gallon water & surfactant-red pro by Pressure Pro), pre rinse grass, clean, post rinse fence and grass.

I have done many other fences and house washing with this solution and set up and never had any complaints. When I use to work for the other company we would downstream straight 12.5% and never had an issue!

The customer has not yet sent me any photos and I am scheduled to go look at her property tomorrow. I just sit here scratching my head because I have done the same process as many of my other jobs and have not had an issue. I had two other house washing jobs Friday’s and the customers didn’t have any complaints on my Follow Up calls.

Any advice on maybe what I did wrong or on how to handle this situation would be much appreciated. I greatly respect everyone’s advice and experience in this forum. Thank you in advance!

I usually tell my customers before hand that my soaps may yellow their grass but I water the hell out of then to try and avoid that. Just in case. Your obviously past that part. Take a look and let him know that the grass will come back and to just water it a little more for the next week. Worst case scenario go back in a month and scratch some seed in. Fall is optimal grass growing season.