Trailer brake controller

Got a new trailer to be ready on Monday.
Never owned a trailer with brakes, so I am a noob on this subject.
Got a 03TB 5.3 4x4
Until last night I thought I was good, but after talking to same friends they ask me if i had a brake controller, and this got the best of me.
Some say yes, same said no, but the overall consensus was better be safe than sorry.

The manual says that it is pre wired for a brake controller.
I looked on the internet and saw videos on how to install it, and there are tons of controllers out there.
I am not looking at going cheap here, and like i said i am a noob on this subject.

I want one for safety reasons, always good to play safe even if i over do it.

But i woukd like to hear from you guys that own one, even better if you have a similar vehicle and what controller you recommend

What are you pulling your trailer with?

03 trailblazer 5.3L 4x4

If they are there id install the controller instead of letting them sit and inevitabley seize up from lack of use. Thats a small truck too so it wouldnt hurt to have IMO

1 Like

This is the brand I have for my truck. You can get cheaper brands for around $50. You may need small wiring harness as well to plug into module under your dash as well which if I recall was $12-$15. Install is really plug and play if you are pre-wired.

TEKONSHA P3 BRAKE CONTROL + WIRING HARNESS FOR 03-06 CHEVY SILVERADO, GMC SIERRA, SUBURBAN, TAHOE, YUKON, DENALI, HUMMER. CONTROLLER + PLUG/PLAY WIRE KIT. Amazon.com

1 Like

Nice tyvm

Will go with th e Tekonsha
From what I gather proportional is better than timed

Ya running an SUV id get a break controller for sure. This is the one I ran on my last F-150 https://www.amazon.com/Reese-Towpower-8507111-Brakeman-Compact/dp/B017NAH5WK

1 Like

Personally i really like the Tekonsha P3. It has been working really well for me. Easy to adjust, easy to operate.

1 Like

I think tekonsha, pricy but very good reviews.