Pump Dilemma

Hey all, looking for some knowledge here. So I bought a used pw via CL. It is a belt drive M-I-TM machine and has a Honda GX390. The label on the cart says the pump is 3.5/3000. The sticker on top of the pump tho says: “M-I-TM 3-0202”. According to the parts list by M-I-TM, this part number is for a 5.5/3500 pump. Does anyone have any insight on this or any way I can find out definitively which pump is on there? Any input would be greatly appreciated as there is a big gap between the two. Thanks in advance.

You might try getting a 5 gal bucket, crank up your PW, and see how much water pumps into the bucket in a minute. BINGO, there’s your answer.

1 Like

I’m by no means an engine pro, but getting a GX390 to do 5.5 gallons is pretty tough unless you sacrifice PSI. You’re either getting one or the other. There’s a chart somewhere that breaks down the actual psi and gpm you can expect from certain horsepowers.

Two commonly used equations for this:

(GPM x PSI) / 1100 = HP

(GPM x PSI) / 1450 x 1.5 = HP

According to Russ, he prefers the second, giving the reason that the first pushes the engine to the limit constantly.

A GX390 is about 13 HP. So, lets say the bucket test confirms that it is putting out 5.5 GPM. Plug in the numbers, and solve for PSI:

5.5 x PSI / 1450 x 1.5 = 13

PSI = 2285

To compare with the first equation, it results in 2600.

Hey thanks for the replys all. I will do the bucket test and see for sure. If it’s not, looks like I’ll be saving for a bigger machine.