New here looking for advise

Hey guys. I’m new here looking for advice on starting my own small pressure washing business. I’m a full time firefighter working 24/48 shifts so this will be a side job. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Also, where should I post for general newbie questions? I starting from scratch here.

first thing you should do is fill out your signature a little so we know who we are talking to.

second thing you should do is join the pwra

third thing you should do is provide a little more info on what work you want to do:
-house washes?
-decks and fences?
-roofs?
-driveways?
-commercial?
-residential?

I made a signature and clicked save but it hasn’t shown up yet. I’ll play with it some more. Still learning the site. I’ll look more into joining when i get a plan set up. It looks like a great deal.

I would like to stick to residential and do houses, sheds, barns, decks, fences, roofs, driveways, etc. If business takes off, I would possibly expand to commercial. It will just be me working on my off days(I work every 3rd day at the fire department). I just want to go about and do this the RIGHT way instead of jumping into it blind.

Read, read, and keep reading. Use the search button when you have specific questions. If you still can’t find what you need, then ask. Try and stay away from cleaning roofs by yourself, you should have a ground guy for that. Try starting with at least 5.5 GPM machine or bigger. Good luck!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Would something in the 3.2-4 gpm range be unwise to start off with? I don’t want to waste my money but if it would be OK for now, then I could upgrade if business goes up and have a back-up. Thanks!

A lot of people start with 4. If you are going to get a surface cleaner I would advise at least 5.5 if you can afford to.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Ok great. I just dont want to spend a ton of money before I find out what business is going to be like in my area.