Honda 13HP + Comet Pump - Newbie please help

Hi guys, i need some help please.

I just brought a 13HP GX390 Power washer with a Comet ZD 3540 Pump.

I am new to this industrial gear and have never used it before, i was told the pump would “self feed” from a bowser etc however its not working?

could somebody be kind enough to look at the current setup and provide some feedback please.

Also does anybody have any advice on maintenance and servicing this machine ?

Change engine oil / filter / spark plug
Pump oil change ?
Have i missed anything?

have you set the pressure on the unloader which is the thing with the red handle that should turn???

Hope that works’

Troy Hillard
Wash Rite NZ
www.washrite.co.nz

Hi mate, firstly thank you for getting back to me. What does the “unloader” do exactly, just so i am learning something new ? does it govern the flow of water that can escape through the machine? it also has a small leak through “unloader” water appears to very slowly be coming from inside the piston of that thing, my dad said it looks like a O ring of some sort has eroded,

also when you look at the picture can you explain to me what the pipe that is attached to one part of the machine and bends back into itself is doing? is that a safety over flow? also the piece of hose pipe is that for adding chemicals etc?

It controls the flow of water through it and provides a control to unload pressure either back to your tank or in your case back to the inlet side of the pump. I would get a pro to set the pressure right on it. If its not set right you would get the full pressure from the pump and you will have issues down the track and can cause damage to the pump. Your local pressure washer supplier can do it within 5 min.

or watch these and learn

Hope that helps

Troy Hillard
Wash Rite NZ
www.washrite.co.nz

1 Like

thank you :slight_smile:

G’day Ryan

Does water flow through the pressure hose when the machine is connected to the mains?