Got a callback on roof cleaning

I cleaned a roof for a client about a week ago everything went great and I thoroughly rinsed the roof. The client called me saying that the roof foamed up the first time it rained. Is this normal or could the runoff damage anything? I used 10.5% sh in a 30 gallon Chem tank 10 gallons of sh 20 gallons of water and about 10 oz of dawn dish soap. I’m new to this so it’s only my 5th roof job. Any input would be greatly appreciated

That’s a pretty weak mix. If you rinsed even half of it off there is no way you will have any issues. We usually don’t rinse and even then it’s somewhat rare to have issues. We’ve started to put some gypsum pellets at the downspouts to help neutralize the runoff just in case there is a light rain. Adds about $2 to our costs each job I think.

What mix do you normally use? I noticed on the shady side of the house my mix didn’t do much. On the sunny side it brightened right up. Any tips on that? Where do you get the pellets? Thanks for the reply

Another question what do people mean when they talk about bagging gutters? I’m very new to this and trying to learn the best method

Home Depot, Lowes, etc on pellets - usually come in a bag, just get a 5 gal bucket with lid to carry on trailer.

3-3.5% mix is fine unless really dirty. Even then 3.5 usually enough, but may need to hit twice or more or go to stronger mix. Give it a little time in between, 10 min or so. Was probably dirtier on shady side. Let it sit for a little while stand back and look at. Still dirty just just hit it again. I tend to go a little weaker than some because usually for most homes that will be fine for a big portion of roof if asphalt shingles.