Getting jobs

I’m new to this whole self employment thing, and right now I’m struggling. Summer is right around the corner, and honestly, I expected to be a lot better off than this. I started in March and so far I’ve only landed two jobs (acquaintances). I’ve tried everything (flyers, business cards, yard signs, facebook page, etc.) and still nothing seems to be popping off. Any advice for speeding up this advertising process?

1 Like

Got pics of ur flyers ect?

Are you on Google? If not, hire a tech. and get a nice website built with a quickness.

Hi Luke,

I think the biggest challenge, and most important factor for new businesses is being seen… constantly.

Get giant truck magnets from esigns.com. Clear bold lettering, straight and to the point. Take a clue from Tim Field’s designs (sign2day.com), but don’t plagiarize. Hire him if you can.

Give away work if you need to, to be able to put up yard signs in as many yards as possible. Again, make sure they can be read from the International Space Station. If your jurisdiction allows, put the signs up on every corner. Make sure they look 100x better and easier to read than any other signs.

Get some nice logo’d polo shirts or tees if you can afford it. Wear them everywhere, and make sure to smile a lot. Again: simplicity and legibility should rule over fancy, intricate designs.

4 Likes

I do think I haven’t done the greatest job on advertising yet. I invested in cards and signs on vista print, basically choosing the cheapest deals I could get. Wanted to invest the minimum I could to start off with. I will post pictures of all my advertisement products in a few hours when I get home, and if y’all could judge me with brutal honesty, I would appreciate it.