Getting a little nervous

I’m just getting started in this business, my newspaper ad hits tomorrow and I’m feeling the pressure already (no pun intended). It’s been a long two months trying to do as much research as I can about equipment and washing in general. There’s no one that does pressure washing in my area, so I didn’t have the opportunity to get some experience under my belt. I’ve practiced around my house and deck, but I still feel underprepared. Maybe that’s what I’ll always feel like until I’ve done this for a few years. I think the thing I dread the most is having to turn down a job. I’m sure that’s not entirely uncommon, especially for a newbie in this industry. We are a small rural community and the last thing I want to be known for is doing less than good work. My other problem: already dreading turning down a job BEFORE I even get offered one! If anyone has some good advice or words of encouragement, it would be most appreciated.

“It’s been a long two months trying to do as much research as I can about equipment and washing in general. There’s no one that does pressure washing in my area, so I didn’t have the opportunity to get some experience under my belt. I’ve practiced around my house and deck, but I still feel underprepared.”

You will be fine. You’ve done the groundwork in learning. Patience and common sense will be needed for a while. I never thought of exterior wood restoration as a business and had no contracting experience. 13 years ago, cleaned and stained my own deck. 2 neighbors liked the result and asked if I would service their decks. Then they told their friends. More neighbors asked for service. By the end of the following year, had established a viable business.

What is most important is business sense. Many contractors come and go, having failed to establish their business as a profitable one. I was lucky, had the experience of starting 2 previous very small white collar consulting businesses.