Flooded a house. What did I do wrong?!

I just recently started using an 8gpm machine and was spraying down a two story house and they wanted under the eaves sprayed down to get rid of the spiderwebs and when I was done I found about ten windows that had water running down the insides(I made sure they were closed ahead of time). Anyone know what happened and how to make it not happen again?
I sprayed down the house using #60 orifice nozzles. I’m wondering if that’s too big and I had to put too much water on the wall to remove the stuff and it was an overload of water into the vents? I’m somewhat stumped here(luckily I’m a window cleaner by trade and my customer was as understanding as possible).

Zach,
Sounds more like leaking windows as opposed to something you did. The only difference is the volume applied directly as opposed to indirectly during a rain even a heavy rain. I make it a habit to not shoot directly at windows, doors, vents, or other penetrations. I also ask the homeowner if they have any known leaks and note that on my estimate. I’ve thought about putting a canned disclaimer on it too, but hasn’t been an issue for me so far.

Looks like a good clean job!

G’day Zach - that happens on most of my jobs. It’s the type of window more than what you did.

Those windows look to open outwards and the water will run down the wall above the window, then hit the frame and follow the frame to the inside, then dribble down the inside.

8 gpm is a lot to spray near windows, where you using a “shooter” nozzle? perhaps a 25 degree nozzle would help.

I warn home owners that this will happen and that they should be home with a few old towels to catch the water, many can’t be home so they leave towels on the sills.

Cheers

John