Clean and stain siding?

A long time friend, she has a friend, who needs one side of her house cleaned and stained. I’ve never done anything like that before. I’ve done decks. Never siding.

Plan on cleaning with a sodium hydroxide solution. Neutralize with oxalic. They have requested that I use Benjamin Moore alkyd semi solid stain because that is whats on the rest of the house.

What would you charge for just this side of the house? I generally wouldn’t do just one side of the house but I’m trying to be nice. Its not because they are cheap. The husband is disabled with parkinsons disease. They don’t have money to just throw around. The rest of the house is in good condition and they understand that it’s not going to just match the rest of the house. I understand if any of you don’t like to disclose their prices to their competitors, so if i’m way outside of your area, and you don’t feel comfortable disclosing your prices, could you pm me?

Does sodium hydroxide kill algae, mold and mildew like sodium hypo?

Any tips, tricks, thoughts?

Sodium hydroxide is very caustic (lye) can be used as a stripper but you need to be careful. If this just needs cleaning go with a sodium per carbonate type cleaner.

I’ll be restaining with a semi transparent stain so i figure that I need to do a good job getting as much off as I could. Do you think that just cleaning it is ok? The stain is the same color.

Are you cleaning or stripping? If stripping what type of stain is on the house now? Is the stain you are planning to use compatible with what is on the house now?

Strip it if your going to restain is with a semitransparent stain. You don’t show tue complete side of the house that is part of what your talking about but the house looks fairly big from the backside alone. Is that Clapboard siding redwood cause it looks like it. There not hard to strip just don’t over do it on the sodium hydroxide because the wood will fur easily and same goes with the pressure.