Chlorine or Bleach for house wash?

As I’m new to the industry I’ve been reading and reading and reading and reading some more, I have only ever been able to find comments leading to bleach in lieu of chlorine. Having said that I was at my local pressure wash store today and was told by someone who has been in the business for going on 30 years (17 of which were spent running a business performing house wash etc…) that I should be using liquid chlorine from the pool store. He said bleach is absolutely fine but chlorine is the way to go. Thoughts are very welcomed, thanks in advance for your thoughts and comments.

Liquid chlorine and bleach are pretty much the same thing: Sodium Hypochlorite. Store bought bleach might contain some additives, but it’s still Sodium Hypochlorite. For our purposes, it’s the same.

You can usually find a stronger concentration of Sodium Hypochlorite at pool stores (10%), than you can in grocery stores (8.25%). Many people buy the Sodium Hypochlorite in bulk from chemical suppliers, which is the strongest you can get it (12.5%).

Im assuming he said what he did, because he knows that 10% bleach will work better than 8.25% bleach… but not sure why he didnt explain the difference, or why he made it seem like they are different chemicals. Of course, he might not understand that bleach and liquid chlorine are the same thing, in which case, i wouldnt take advice from him.

Look at a jug of bleach the next time you are in the store… it will say Sodium Hypochlorite on the side, and will give the strength.

http://www.poolcenter.com/chlor