Chemicals for Oil Removal?

Hey folks! So I’m new to the business owing side, and I am very skeptical of buying a ton of chemicals and trying different things on different properties as I do not want to cause any damage etc.

I’ve been pressure washing for about a year now for someone else, but he always kept his chemicals in black jugs with no labels. I was set to take over the business for him as he was moving to a different state and left me high and dry (no pun intended) and wont return my texts etc. I knew what kind of money he was making, and I did most of the labor for him and decided to start my own. I went and purchased a trailer, 200g tank, 3600psi 3.6gpm pump with chem injection and a few chem jugs, surface cleaner, T Nozzle etc etc. I have not bought a heater yet, but I’m planning on investing in one once I pay off the trailer (at my current rate of butt-kicking should be paid off next month. Business is booming!)

The only problem I’m currently running into is Oil stains. I have tried some simple-green de-greaser that I had laying around the house, a brush, and hit it with the turbo nozzle and the stain lightened, but is still noticeable. This stain has been in my drive way for probably 10+ years so I’m not even sure its actually removable?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

EBC is a popular chemical for oil removal. Enviro bio cleaner. Heat helps.

4 Likes

Hot water and this are the only thing I’ve found that will remove oil stains 90% or more. Aside from that you can crush kitty litter or oil dri into a stain with a cinder block and pick up a majority of it if it’s reasonably new.

3 Likes

My girlfriend can attest to the fact that crushed kitty litter and a cinder block will soak up fresh oil. After freaking out about me losing a quart (or more) of oil on our driveway she woke up to no more oil stain.